

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Akeeagok realigns cabinet portfolios

Iqaluit, Nunavut (March 15, 2023) – Premier P.J. Akeeagok announced changes to Nunavut's Executive Council today.

"This new distribution of Cabinet portfolios will strengthen the work of government as we move forward with eight ministers. We are committed to continued progress through the implementation of the Katujjiluta mandate. I have full confidence in the ability of this Cabinet to bring lasting and measurable change to our territory," said Premier Akeeagok.

Portfolio assignments are as follows:

Honourable PJ Akeeagok

Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs

Minister of Indigenous Affairs

Minister responsible for Immigration

Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Honourable Pamela Gross

Deputy Premier

Minister of Education

Minister of Culture and Heritage

Minister of Languages

Minister responsible for Seniors

Honourable David Joanasie

Minister of Community and Government Services
Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council
Government House Leader

Honourable Lorne Kusugak

Minister of Finance

Minister responsible for Liquor Licensing Board

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Honourable David Akeeagok

Minister of Justice

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister responsible for Labour

Minister responsible for Mines

Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for Trade

Honourable Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Human Resources

Minister of Family Services

Minister responsible for Homelessness

Minister responsible for Status of Women

Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Honourable John Main

Minister of Health

Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

Honourable Joanna Quassa

Minister of Environment

Minister responsible for Energy

Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

###

Media Contact:

Beth Brown Press Secretary 867-975-5059 bbrown6@gov.nu.ca

ለペር ጋ∖ ሁካ "ህናክ በር ኮተ ላ ላ ኮ ኮተ ልና የሆር "ክንና ል ው ክ ጋን የሆጋብ ከተለ የተመረከ ነው። አል ነው። ኮላል ነው።