Staff Directory

You are here

Minister's Page

Honourable Joe Savikataaq

Deputy Premier

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister of Environment

Minister of Energy

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for Mines


The Honourable Joe Savikataaq was re-elected in the general election held on October 30, 2017, to represent the constituency of Arviat South in the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. Mr. Savikataaq was elected to serve on the Executive Council during the November 17, 2017, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. Minister Savikataaq was formally sworn into office on November 21, 2017. He serves as the Deputy Premier, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation, Minister responsible for Mines, Minister of Environment and Minister of Energy.

Mr. Savikataaq previously served in the 4th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, during which he served as Minister of Community and Government Services, Minister of Energy, Minister of Environment and Nunavut Co-Chair of the Hudson Bay Regional Roundtable.

Mr. Savikataaq was previously employed as a Conservation Officer with the Department of Environment, a position he held for close to 30 years. Mr. Savikataaq holds a diploma in the field of environmental and renewable resources management.

Mr. Savikataaq has 20 years of service as an elected member of Arviat’s municipal council.

Joe and Susan Savikataaq have three children: Jamie, Joe Jr. and Wendy. Mr. Savikataaq’s personal interests include hunting, fishing, small aircraft piloting, boating and scuba diving. Mr. Savikataaq has been an active volunteer with community search and rescue activities.