You are here

Minister Lightstone relinquishes portfolios

28 March 2022

News Release

Minister Lightstone relinquishes portfolios

Iqaluit, Nunavut (March 28, 2022) – Today, Minister of Finance and Human Resources Adam Lightstone will be stepping aside from his portfolios effective immediately following the release of the Report of the Integrity Commissioner of Nunavut to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Concerning the Possible Conflict of Interest Respecting the Appointment of the Acting Deputy Minister of Human Resources.

On March 8, 2022, Premier Akeeagok informed the House that he would be seeking the advice of the Integrity Commissioner concerning the circumstances of the appointment of an Acting Deputy Minister of Human Resources in December 2021. The final report was released today by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Tony Akoak.

“I want to thank the Integrity Commissioner for the prompt response to my inquiry, and her careful consideration of the matter,” said Premier P.J. Akeeagok, “Minister Lightstone has stepped aside until such time as the Legislative Assembly has the opportunity to formally resolve this matter in accordance with the provision of the Integrity Act.”

Effective immediately, Minister Lorne Kusugak will assume the Finance portfolio, Minister Margaret Nakashuk will assume the Human Resources and Worker Compensation and Safety Board portfolio.

A full list of Cabinet portfolios is appended to this release.

Copies of the report may be downloaded from the Legislative Assembly’s website.


Media Contact:

Sima Sahar Zerehi
Press Secretary to Premier Akeeagok



Nunavut Cabinet Portfolio Assignments


The Honourable P.J. Akeeagok, Premier of Nunavut

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
Minister of Indigenous Affairs
Minister responsible for Immigration
Minister responsible for Utility Rate Review Council


The Honourable Pamela Gross

Deputy Premier
Minister of Education
Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College


The Honourable Lorne Kusugak

Minister of Finance
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation
Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board
Minister responsible for the Liquor and Cannabis Board
Minister responsible for the Liquor and Cannabis Commission 


The Honourable David Akeeagok

Minister of Environment
Minister of Justice
Minister of Economic Development and Transportation
Minister responsible for Labour
Minister responsible for Democratic Institutions
Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal
Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation
Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation
Minister responsible for Mines
Minister responsible for Trade
Minister responsible for Energy


The Honourable Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Human Resources
Minister of Family Services
Minister responsible for Workers Safety and Compensation Commission
Minister responsible for Status of Women
Minister responsible for Homelessness
Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction


The Honourable Adam Lightstone

No portfolio


The Honourable John Main

Minister of Health
Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention


The Honourable David Joanasie

Government House Leader
Minister of Community and Government Services


The Honourable Joanna Quassa

Minister of Culture and Heritage
minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation
Minister responsible for Languages
Minister responsible for Seniors