You are here

Photo Gallery


Anubha Momin, Sexual Health Program Coordinator for the Department of Health, Government of Nunavut, was a guest on CBC’s Qulliq radio show on Friday, November 29, 2013. Anubha is pictured with host Rosie Simonfalvy, left. She spoke of the Department of Health’s redesigned website;  I Respect Myself Campaign, and provided information on World AIDS Day (December 1), and Aboriginal AIDS Awareness Week. The rates of Sexually Transmitted Infection (STI) are high in Nunavut. The website reflects a positive approach to healthy sexuality and relationships, and reinforces the Sexual Health Program’s themes of respecting yourself and others.



The Department of Health, Government of Nunavut, and Baffinland Iron Mines Corporation signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on Monday, November 25, 2013. Amongst other matters, the MOA sets out standard protocols to coordinate emergency evacuations at the Mary River project worksites. Department of Health Deputy Minister Peter Ma, front left, and Erik Madsen, Baffinland VP Sustainable Development, Health, Safety and Environment, front right, signed the MOA. Observers include, back row from the left: Ted Cousins,  Department of Health Policy Analyst, Rosemary Keenainak, Department of Health Assistant Deputy Minister, and Glen Hein, Baffinland Health and Safety Manager.


The Department of Health, Government of Nunavut, presented Nunavut Arctic College nursing students with $3,000 Elizabeth II Award scholarships. The scholarships recognizes both beneficiary and non-beneficiary students achieving the highest marks in years two, three and four. The scholarships were presented on Friday, November 1, 2013. Pictured, from the left: Eric Corneau, Dean of Nunatta Campus, Arctic College, Iqaluit; Nubiya Enuaraq (2nd year); D’Arcy Masson (4th year); Mark Bursey (2nd year); Dianne Iyago (4th year); and Peter Ma, Deputy Minister of Health, who presented the scholarships. (Absent from the photo: Rebecca Fada, 3rd year.)