Staff Directory

You are here

“Learn to …” Schedule of Events

30 May 2019 to 31 August 2019
Town(s): 
Iqaluit
Location (Place): 
Sylvia Grinnell Territorial Park Summer 2019

“Learn to …” Schedule of Events
Sylvia Grinnell Territorial Park Summer 2019
The first Saturday of each month and every Tuesday 1:15 PM to 3:00 PM


Weekly “Learn to…” events will be offered again this summer at Sylvia Grinnell Territorial Park in Iqaluit! “Learn to” events aim to get the public out to the park to learn something new. Different activities are planned until the end of August 2019.

Saturday June 1, 2019 -
Learn to Throat Sing: Beginner
This session will teach participants how to throat sing as well as the meanings behind the songs.

Tuesday June 4, 2019 -
Learn about Inuit Traditional Legends
This session will be facilitated by a traditional story teller to teach the participants about traditional Inuit legends.

Tuesday June 11, 2019 -
Learn to Play Traditional Inuit Games
This session will teach the participants how to play traditional Inuit games.

Tuesday June 18, 2019 -
Intro to Inuit Culture
This session will give a broader understanding to participants about Inuit Culture.

Tuesday June 25, 2019 -
Learn to make Kakivak
This session will teach participants how to make Kakivak.

Tuesday July 2, 2019 -
Learn to Carve Soapstone
This session will teach participants how to carve soapstone while experiencing the work it requires.

Saturday July 6, 2019 -
Learn to Drum Dance
This session will teach participants the basics of how to Drum Dance.

Tuesday July 16, 2019 -
Learn about Traditional Rock Uses in Nunavut Parks
This session will teach participants about the different ways rocks are traditionally used by using examples from Sylvia Grinnell and Qaumaarviit Territorial Parks.

Tuesday July 23, 2019 -
Learn to Make Bannock and How to Prepare Traditional Tea
This session will teach participants how to make bannock. Participants will also learn about traditional teas and how to prepare them.

Tuesday July 30, 2019 -
Learn to Make Pitsi
This session will teach participants how to make pitsi (dried fish).

Saturday August 3, 2019 -
Learn to Collect Qulliq Wick
This session will teach participants which particular type of plant to collect to use as wick for the Qulliq.

Tuesday August 6, 2019 -
Learn to Light Qulliq
This session will teach participants how to light a Qulliq.

 

Tuesday August 13, 2019 -
Learn to Drum Dance/Throat Sing
This session will teach participants how to throat sing as well as the meanings behind the songs this session will also teach participants the basics of how to Drum Dance. .

Tuesday August 20, 2019 -
Learn to Prepare Seal Skin
This session will teach participants the fundamental techniques on how to clean seal skins.

Tuesday August 27, 2019 -
Traditional Plant Walk
This session will teach participants about traditional uses of arctic plants.

Contact: 
Caroline Ipeelie-Qiatsuk