

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Akeeagok assigns new Cabinet portfolios

Across Nunavut, Nunavut

Iqaluit, Nunavut (March 14, 2024) – Premier P.J. Akeeagok assigned new cabinet portfolios effective March 14, 2023.

In addition to his position as Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs, Premier Akeeagok will continue as Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council and assume the added responsibility of Minister responsible for Seniors.

In conjunction with his duties as Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, David Akeeagok will serve as Minister of Human Resources.

Daniel Qavvik will continue as Minister of Environment and take on the role of Minister of Culture and Heritage.

Newly-elected Cabinet Minister Karen Nutarak, representing the constituency of Tununiq, will be the Minister of Justice and Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College, as well as Minister responsible for Labour and Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal.

"I want to welcome Minister Karen Nutarak to the Cabinet, whose energy and enthusiasm has already positively impacted our team," said Premier P.J. Akeeagok. "We are at a critical point in our mandate, with less than two years to accomplish our ambitious goals. I want to ensure that our collective energy as a Cabinet is focused on our mandate priorities and the work that remains to be done."

Minister Nutarak was sworn in on March 6, after being elected to the Cabinet on March 4.

A full list of Cabinet portfolios is appended to this release.

###

Nunavut cabinet portfolios

Hon. P.J. Akeeagok, Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
Minister of Indigenous Affairs
Minister responsible for Immigration
Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council
Minister responsible for Seniors

Hon. Pamela Gross, Deputy Premier

Minister of Education

Hon. Lorne Kusugak

Minister of Finance
Minister responsible for Liquor Licensing Board
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Hon. David Akeeagok

Minister of Human Resources
Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission
Minister of Economic Development and Transportation
Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation
Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation
Minister responsible for Trade
Minister responsible for Mines

Hon. David Joanasie, Government House Leader

Minister of Community and Government Services

Hon. John Main

Minister of Health
Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention
Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Hon. Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Family Services
Minister responsible for Homelessness
Minister responsible for Status of Women
Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

Hon. Daniel Qavvik

Minister of Environment Minister responsible for Energy Minister of Culture and Heritage Minister responsible for Languages

Hon. Karen Nutarak

Minister of Justice Minister responsible for Labour Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal ###

Media Contact:

Michele LeTourneau Press Secretary to Premier P.J. Akeeagok Office of the Premier 867-975-5063 MLeTourneau6@gov.nu.ca