Staff Directory

You are here

Premier Savikataaq announces changes to Cabinet portfolios

15 June 2018 

News Release

Premier Savikataaq announces changes to Cabinet portfolios

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 15, 2018) – Premier Joe Savikataaq announced changes to Executive Council portfolios today.

The Honourable David Akeeagok is the new Deputy Premier and Minister of Economic Development and Transportation.

The Honourable George Hickes is the new Minister of Finance.

The Honourable Jeannie Ehaloak is the new Minister of Environment, in addition to her current portfolios.

Paul Okalik’s appointment as Chief Negotiator for Devolution is no longer in effect.

A replacement will be appointed at a later date.

"I understand the uncertainty that has transpired over the last week and I want to tell my fellow Nunavummiut that this cabinet is focused on ensuring strong, healthy and successful partnerships and outcomes," said Premier Savikataaq. "Turaaqtavut lays out the foundation of our Governments’ work, and these appointments today will certainly embolden our steps, and help us as we move ahead, towards a better future for our territory."

These changes take effect immediately.


Media Contact:

Angela A. Petru
Media and Languages Communications Coordinator
Department of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs