Staff Directory

You are here

Premier Quassa announces changes to senior management

01 December 2017 


IQALUIT, Nunavut (December 01, 2017) – Premier Quassa has announced changes to the Government of Nunavut’s (GN) senior management.

"A new Executive Council means a fresh start for our territory, and an opportunity to renew our direction and commitment to our people and partnerships," said Premier Quassa. "It’s also a time to re-evaluate and re-align our senior management to ensure program effectiveness and renewed leadership within the public service."

Effective immediately:

  • Sherri Rowe, Rebekah Williams and Chris D’Arcy are no longer with the Government of Nunavut.
  • Kathy Okpik moves from Deputy Minister of Education to Deputy Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs.
  • Bernie MacIsaac is Acting Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Transportation.
  • John MacDonald is Acting Deputy Minister of Education.
  • Elaine Uppahuak-Prusky is Acting President of the Nunavut Arctic College.

Effective December 4, 2017:

  • Yvonne Niego moves from Assistant Deputy Minister of Justice to Deputy Minister of Family Services.

Effective January 8, 2018:

  • Pauloosie Suvega moves from Deputy Minister of Culture and Heritage to Deputy Minister of Environment.
  • Louise Flaherty becomes Deputy Minister of Culture and Heritage.

Premier Quassa has also appointed Joe Adla Kunuk as principal secretary and Hillary Casey as press secretary within his office.

"I would like to thank the outgoing senior managers for their dedication and commitment to the GN. Their efforts, abilities and successes are truly appreciated. As we develop our new government mandate and determine priorities for the next four years, I remain dedicated to enhanced program management and oversight to benefit all Nunavummiut," said Premier Quassa.


Media contact:

Hillary Casey
Chief, Public Affairs
Office of Premier Quassa
(867) 975-5059