Staff Directory

You are here

Nunavut athletes compete at 2015 Canada Winter Games

13 February 2015

News Release 

Nunavut athletes compete at 2015 Canada Winter Games 

IQALUIT, Nunavut (February 13, 2015) - Team Nunavut is competing with some of the country’s best young athletes at the Canada Winter Games this February. 

The Canada Games are a national multi-sport event held every two years, alternating between summer and winter. The 2015 Canada Winter Games are hosted by Prince George, British Columbia from February 13 to March 1, and will feature participation from all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. 

“The Canada Games is a top-tier national competition that draws the attention of the whole country. Without a doubt, Canadians will see that Team Nunavut has some of our country’s most tireless, dedicated and sportsmanlike athletes and coaches,” said Community and Government Services Minister, Tom Sammurtok. “Our athletes have been training hard to reach this level of competition. We look forward to cheering them on as they achieve new bests in their sports.” 

Team Nunavut has participated in the Canada Games since 2001. This year’s contingent is comprised of 24 athletes, seven coaches and managers, and seven mission staff. 

Athletes are participating in the four sporting events at the 2015 Canada Winter Games: 

  • Badminton 
  • Female Curling 
  • Short Track Speed Skating 
  • Table Tennis 

Halina Crowley, a speedskater from Iqaluit, has been selected to carry the Nunavut flag at the Opening Ceremonies of the 2015 Canada Winter Games on February 13, 2015. Fellow Iqaluit speedskating teammate, Hayden Hickey, is the official sign-bearer at the Ceremonies. 

Mission staff supports the athletes and teams at the Games, and are led by Chef-De-Mission, Mariele dePeuter and Assistant Chef-De-Mission, Jeff Seeteenak. 

Once again, provincial and territorial participants are trading pins at the Games, which is often referred to as the “twentieth sport”. Team Nunavut’s pin sets are amongst the most highly coveted because of their unique design and creative style. This year’s pin sets are designed in the shape of a kayaker to reflect this traditional activity. 

Team Nunavut’s uniforms are designed to feature the colours of the Nunavut flag - yellow, red and blue - and the flag’s signature inuksuk. The liner jacket features an igloo print. 

Nunavummiut are encouraged to participate in the “Cheer From Here” giveaway during the 2015 Canada Winter Games. Post a picture of you cheering on Team Nunavut in your community on Facebook or Twitter using the hashtag #TeamNunavut for a chance to receive an official Team Nunavut uniform. 

Visit Team Nunavut’s page on Facebook and Twitter for more information on the giveaway and for updates from the Canada Winter Games: and @TeamNunavut on Twitter. The official Canada Games hashtag is #CanadaGames. 


Media Contacts 

Hillary Casey 
Policy Analyst/ Communications Officer 
Department of Community and Government Services 

*NOTE TO MEDIA* See below for a full list of Team Nunavut participants: 

Mission Staff
Mariele dePeuter (Baker Lake) – Chef-de-Mission 
Jeff Seeteenak (Baker Lake) – Assistant Chef-de-Mission 
Connor Fudge (Arviat) 
Brad Mainse (Baker Lake) 
Cheryl Paterson (Baker Lake) 
Josée Tremblay (Iqaluit) 
Gary Wong (Iqaluit) 

Jayko Akeegoak (Grise Fiord) 
Sappa Cookie (Sanikiluaq) 
Saumik Darehshipour (Rankin Inlet) 
Meagan Dialla (Iqaluit) 
Louis Lebel-Wong (Iqaluit) 
Brittany Masson (Iqaluit) 
Jenny Mosesie (Qikiqtarjuaq) 
Jane Nakaksuk (Igloolik) 
Mary Omele (Iqaluit) 
Jonah Oolayou (Iqaluit) 
Calvin Holoboff (Vancouver) - Coach 
Amanda McLaughlin (Arviat) - Manager 

Female Curling 
Katie Chislett Manning (Iqaluit) 
Kaitlyn MacDonald (Iqaluit) 
Sadie Pinksen (Iqaluit) 
Christianne West (Iqaluit) 
Lynn Kreviazuk (Ottawa) - Coach 

Speed Skating 
Halina Crowley (Iqaluit) 
Hayden Hickey (Iqaluit) 
Tyler Kirk (Iqaluit) 
Aiden Stanley (Iqaluit) 
Asini Wijesooriya (Iqaluit) 
Kyle St. Laurent (Iqaluit) – Coach 
Erica Stanley (Iqaluit) – Manager 

Table Tennis 
Julianne Angulalik (Kugluktuk) 
James Iyerak (Igloolik) 
Krista Niptanatiak (Kugluktuk) 
Dylan Palongayak (Kugluktuk) 
Silas Pijamini (Iqaluit) 
Monica Qattalik (Igloolik) 
Attila Csaba (Kugluktuk) – Coach 
Maria Csaba (Kugluktuk) – Manager