You are here

Community emergency efforts recognized in Pangnirtung

08 June 2015

News Release

For Immediate Release

Community emergency efforts recognized in Pangnirtung

PANGNIRTUNG, Nunavut (June 5, 2015) – Premier Peter Taptuna, Minister of Community and Government Services Johnny Mike and Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation (QEC) Keith Peterson today recognized the community of Pangnirtung and their efforts during the local state of emergency after the fire at the power plant in April 2015. Certificates of appreciation were distributed to local organizations, followed by a barbecue for the community.

"The way the community of Pangnirtung pulled together during this emergency was truly admirable. You embody the principle of a strong and resilient community," said Premier Taptuna. "The response to this situation could not have gone more smoothly. I commend your efforts and thank you for your commitment and perseverance."

"Many individuals and organizations offered assistance to the community of Pangnirtung during the local state of emergency. The hamlet’s emergency response control group did a fantastic job in organizing community efforts on the ground and demonstrated best practices in responding to an emergency at a local level," said Minister Mike. "The efforts of all those who assisted helped make the response to this emergency a success and we thank them for their contributions."

"I would like to express my gratitude to the residents of Pangnirtung for their steadfast support, cooperation and patience in dealing with the state of emergency, and to extend my praise to the staff who worked tirelessly to ensure that full power was re-established in the community within a four-day period," said Minister Peterson.

The successful response to this emergency would not have been possible without the help, expertise and commitment of numerous organizations. The Government of Nunavut and the Qulliq Energy Corporation extend their sincere thanks to:  

 Qulliq Energy Corporation staff

 Nunavut Emergency Management – Department of Community and Government Services

 Procurement, Contracts and Logistics – Department of Community and Government Services

 Territorial Emergency Response Committee (TERC) – Department of Education, EIA, Environment, Finance, CGS, Health, QEC, City of Iqaluit, AANDC, CanNor, Public Safety Canada, Environment Canada, Canadian Forces – Joint Task Force North.

 Pangnirtung Emergency Response Committee

 Hamlet of Pangnirtung

 Pangnirtung Volunteer Fire Department

 Canadian Rangers, Pangnirtung division

 Pangnirtung Inuit Co-operative Limited

 795 Iqaluit Squadron of the Royal Canadian Air Cadets

 First Air

 Canadian North

 Air Nunavut

 Kenn Borek Air

 Calm Air

 Kivalliq Air

 Summit Air

 Erickson Aviation

 Northwest Territories Power Corporation

 Attagoyuk Ilisavik School

 Pangnirtung District Education Authority

 Pangnirtung Health Centre

 Canadian Off Grid Utilities Association (COGUA)

 Wajax

 Canadrill

 Jenso Controls

 The Royal Canadian Mounted Police

 Nunavut Construction

 Jr Peyton Enterprises Ltd

 FBO – Airport Apron Services GC North

 Toromont

 Cummins


 Northwest Company

 Northwestel


Media Contact:

Cate Macleod

Director of Communications

Department of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs