Staff Directory

You are here

2013-08 NR39 (CGS) Team Nunavut at Summer Games - ENG

02 August 2013 

News Release

For Immediate Release

Team Nunavut heading to 2013 Canada Summer Games

August 2, 2013- Fourteen youth from Nunavut are in Sherbrooke, Quebec this week to take part in the 2013 Canada Summer Games – the largest multi-sport competition for young athletes in Canada.

The three Team Nunavut athletes are competing in individual wrestling events after honing their skills at a training camp in Montreal prior to these Games.

"These young Nunavut athletes are the best in their age class and have trained hard to be able to compete at the 2013 Canada Summer Games. They have shown discipline, commitment and dedication to their sport and athletic development. Team Nunavut is proud to have them represent our territory at the national level," said Team Nunavut’s Chef-De-Mission, Jeff Seeteenak.

For the first time ever, Team Nunavut will also be represented by eleven Youth Ambassadors who will volunteer at various sport and cultural venues throughout the Games. Team Nunavut’s Youth Ambassadors were selected based on their volunteerism and contribution to sport within their communities.

Rounding out Team Nunavut’s contingent are six adult Mission Staff, who will provide guidance and support to these young athletes and ambassadors during the Games.

"Team Nunavut has assembled a team of dedicated, passionate and talented athletes, ambassadors and staff to showcase our territory’s talents on the national stage. All Nunavummiut will feel a great sense of pride when Team Nunavut raises our flag at the 2013 Canada Summer Games. We thank them for their contribution and wish them the best of luck in Sherbrooke," said Minister of Community and Government Services, Honourable Lorne Kusugak.


Media Contact:

Hillary Casey
Communications Officer
Community and Government Services



Team Nunavut members are:

Athletes (wrestling team):

Sandy Saviakjuk – Coral Harbor

David Haulli – Igloolik

Arthur Siksik – Rankin Inlet

Coach – Mike Soares – Cape Dorset

Youth Ambassadors:

Bruno Attagutsiak – Arctic Bay

Douglas Ollie – Arviat

Chelsea Tagoona – Baker Lake

Kent dePeuter – Baker Lake

Trent Aksawnee – Baker Lake

Trina Qaqqaq – Baker Lake

Amber Eleeheetok – Gjoa Haven

Chris Teiman – Iqaluit

Ipellie Ootoova – Pond Inlet

Lindsay Evaloajuk – Qikiqtarjuaq

Annette Ray Boucher – Rankin Inlet

Mission Staff:

Jeff Seeteenak, Chef-de-Mission - Baker Lake

Mariele dePeuter, Assistant Chef de Mission – Baker Lake

Hilu Tagoona – Baker Lake

Michel Rheault – Iqaluit

Kimberly Masson – Iqaluit

Lisa Kresky – Rankin Inlet