You are here

District Education Authority

A District Education Authority (DEA) is a locally-elected body made up of community members who are interested in education. The DEA works with the school staff and Regional School Operations (RSO) staff. Together, these bodies serve many of the functions of a school board and are responsible for the administration of the school in Nunavut.  Members are elected for a four-year term.


The DEA is responsible for making important decisions concerning the delivery of education. Examples of these important decisions include:

  • Choosing the language of instruction and language model to be used in the school;
  • establishing the school calendar;
  • developing a registration and attendance policy;
  • developing an Inuuqatigiisiarniq (discipline) policy;
  • issuing suspensions and expulsions;
  • working with Region School Operations (RSO) to hire school staff (including teachers and principals)
  • providing an early childhood education program that promotes Inuit language and culture.


The various positions/structures that make up the DEA are:

  • each DEA is comprised of seven members (the CSFN has five members);
  • each member is elected  for a four-year term;
  • each DEA includes one chairperson and one vice-chairperson;
  • each DEA has committees on human resources, finance, Inuuqatigiisiarniq (discipline policies), and attendance; and
  • DEAs must meet at least once a month.


More Information:

Who can become a DEA member?

Why become a DEA member?

Contact Your Local DEA Office

DEA/CSFN Orientation and Training Manual

District Education Authority & Commission scolaire francophone de Nunavut 2019 Office Manager Workshop Report