Staff Directory

You are here

Qilaut 2022

Qilaut 2022

To listen to previous years’ winners, visit Qilaut | Government of Nunavut

The Department of Culture and Heritage is now accepting submissions for Qilaut 2022, Nunavut's annual Inuktut songwriting contest. The year’s theme is Kajjaarijara.

Nunavummiut are invited to submit original Inuktut songs to have the opportunity to win cash prizes – first prize, $5,000, second prize, $2,500, and third prize, $1,500, and seven prizes of $500 for runners up. Winning submissions will be recorded professionally for a compilation album that will be distributed in 2023.

All submissions can be sent to The deadline to apply is October 3, 2022.

Inuktut Song Writing Contest for Nunavummiut

Qilaut 2022 Inuktut Songwriting Contest Official Terms and Conditions (Rules)

Qilaut Contest Rules
Qilaut Entry Form Consent
Qilaut Short Form Rules

How to record your song in 5 steps