

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Taptuna assigns cabinet portfolios

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 12, 2015) – Following the addition of two new members to the executive council, Premier Taptuna today announced changes to cabinet portfolios, which are effective November 12, 2015.

"We are entering a new chapter of this government, and there is still more work required to ensure we achieve what we set out to do in *Sivumut Abluqta*," said Premier Taptuna. "I have considered the assets brought by each member of the executive council and I have diversified the portfolio assignments to reflect that leadership."

Portfolio assignments are as follows:

Honourable Peter Taptuna

Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs Minister responsible for Seniors' Advocate

Honourable Monica Ell-Kanayuk

Deputy Premier

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister responsible for Mines

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister of Energy

Minister responsible for the Status of Women

Honourable George Kuksuk

Minister of Culture and Heritage

Minister of Languages

Minister of Family Services

Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

Minister responsible for Homelessness

Honourable Johnny Mike

Minister of Environment

Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council

Honourable Paul Okalik

Minister of Justice

Minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal

Minister responsible for the Labour Standards Board

Minister of Health

Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

Minister responsible for Immigration

Honourable Keith Peterson

Minister of Finance and Chairman of the Financial Management Board

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor Commission

Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board

Minister responsible for Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Honourable Paul Quassa

Minister of Education

Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

Government House Leader

Honourable George Hickes

Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Honourable Joe Savikataag

Minister of Community and Government Services

Nunavut Chair, Hudson Bay Roundtable

###

Media Contact:

Yasmina Pepa Chief, Public Affairs Office of Premier Taptuna Government of Nunavut 867-975-5059 ypepa@gov.nu.ca